Russia Bans Military and Police from Traveling Abroad

Russia issued a blanket ban on foreign trips for its law enforcement and military personnel, reports 

The list includes Bulgaria, USA, Canada, UK, Italy, France, Germany, Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Japan, Turkey, Egypt, Iraq, etc. The number of off limits countries totals 150. 

The ban includes employees who have access to state secrets - parts of the military and the police, the Federal Drug Control Agency, the Federal Migration Service, Federal Penalty Service and certain employees of the Foreign Ministry. According to estimates, they are around 250 000 people.

The goal of the measure, according to is to prevent leaks of secret information to foreign intelligence agencies who could use it to penetrate Russia. 

Exceptions would be made in “exceptional circumstances” and for “good reason”. The duration of the ban is yet unclear, which for the time being is for an indefinite period.

Recently Bulgaria was included in a travel advisory to all Russian citizens who suspect that they might be wanted for whatever reason in the US.

Continue reading on: