Magic in Sydney, Serbia wins ATP Cup!

In the grand finale at the Ken Rosewall Arena, our team beat the Davis Cup champions Spain 2-1.
Serbia had won over South Africa (3-0), France (2-1) and Chile (2-1) on their way to the group stage finals in Brisbane, beat Canada (3-0) in the quarterfinals in Sydney, finally in the semifinals Russia, also 3-0.
Spain beat Georgia, Uruguay and Japan 3-0 in the group stage playing in Perth. In the quarterfinals in Sydney, they beat Belgium (2-1) and finally in the semifinals, host Australia by a maximum of 3-0.
Dusan Lajovic and Roberto Bautista Agut came first, the Spaniard celebrated 7: 5, 6: 1 after 97 minutes of play. It was his fourth victory in a fourth duel with Lajovic.
Two of the world's best tennis players, Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal, then took to the field. After an hour and 55 minutes of play, the Serbian tennis player triumphed with 6: 2, 7: 6 (4).
It was their 55th duel, Novak has three more wins, 29:26, and Nadal opted not to play doubles immediately prior to the start of the match.
Finally, in the decision match, Djokovic and Troicki played magnificently and beat Pablo Carreño Busta and Feliciano Lpez 6: 3, 6: 4.

Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images

It was an incredible nine days on the Australian continent during which Serbian tennis showed all the strength and top quality.
Novak Djokovic, Dusan Lajovic, Viktor Troicki, Nikola Cacic and Nikola Milojevic, led by the team captain Nenad Zimonjic, have made history - winning the premier edition of the ATP Cup.
So, in a way, they continued where Nenad Zimonjic, Janko Tipsarevic and other members of the team then stopped in Dusseldorf in 2006, when they remained listed as the last champions of the World Tennis Cup, a competition that was the...

Continue reading on: