Five states call Turkey to order for illegal drilling in Eastern Mediterranean

The Foreign Affairs ministers of Greece, Cyprus, Egypt, France and the United Arab Emirates called on Turkey to «fully respect the sovereignty and sovereign rights of all states in their marine zones in the East Mediterranean,» during a teleconference on Monday.

At the meeting to discuss the latest developments in the East Mediterranean, the five ministers also discussed the regional crises threatening the region's stability.

In a joint declaration, they «expressed their deepest concern over the current escalation and continuous provocative actions» in the region by Turkey.

They denounced the ongoing Turkish illegal activities in Cyprus' EEZ and territorial waters, which they said is a clear violation of the UN's 1982 Law of the Sea Convention, noting that recent activity was the sixth attempt by Turkey in less than a year to illegally conduct drilling operations in Cyprus' maritime zones.

Turkey is not a signatory to the UN convention.

Turkish airspace violations

The five foreign ministers also condemned the escalation of Turkey's violations of Greek national airspace, including overflights of inhabited areas and territorial waters in violation of International Law, and the exploitation by Turkey of refugees and migrants as a battering ram to cross the Greek-Turkish border at Evros.

A video that shows a Turkish Coast Guard Vessel shadowing (or indeed escorting) a migrant boat toward the Eastern Aegean islands of Greece has been aired widely.

Turco-Libyan EEZ pact legally null and void

Referring to the memorandum signed between Turkey and the Tripoli government in November, 2019, the foreign ministers reiterated that it is a «contravention of international law and of the UN...

Continue reading on: