Why five EU members will not recognize the so-called Kosovo

Cyprus, Greece, Slovakia, Romania and Spain firmly hold their political views on the so-called Kosovo, because otherwise they would have a problem with their territorial integrity.
Prime Minister of the Interim Institutions of Pristina, Albin Kurti, asked this week in Brussels from five EU member states, which did not recognize the self-proclaimed independence of Kosovo, to do so, and said that it would "lead Kosovo towards European integration".
The research associate of the Institute for European Studies, Dr Aleksandar Gaji, says for Sputnik that the reason for such a statement by Kurti is that the non-recognition of the independence of the so-called Kosovo by some EU countries is not favorable for Pristina's negotiation moves, which are based on Serbia being conditioned to sign an agreement on the recognition of Kosovo in order to join the EU.
"He understands that this argument is in favor of Serbia and that these five countries are a stumbling stone of the whole group that pushes the recognition of Kosovo as independent. All those countries actually adhere to international law and principles, remain consistent, while other countries, which "recognized the independence of Kosovo, under pressure from the sponsors of the independence of the southern Serbian province, in fact are aware that they are working contrary to Resolution 1244 and that this self-proclaimed independence is illegal under international law, but they agree, because they are aware of the political power 'pushing' the story," Gajic said.
According to him, the five countries that did not recognize Kosovo: Cyprus, Greece, Romania, Slovakia and Spain, remained principled primarily due to their internal interests, i.e. existing and potential problems related to certain parts...

Continue reading on: