South-East Europe Countries Urge Citizens to Leave Ukraine

Governments all over South-eastern Europe have urged their citizens to leave Ukraine due to concerns that the Russian-Ukrainian conflict is intensifying. Most of these warnings came over the weekend.

Serbia's Foreign Affairs Ministry on Sunday evening said Serbian citizens in Ukraine should "consider the possibility of temporarily leaving the territory of that country.

"We also recommend citizens of the Republic of Serbia who plan to travel to Ukraine to consider postponing the trip," the ministry said on its website.

Kosovo's Foreign Ministry called on citizens "not to travel to Ukraine and, if they are there, to leave as soon as possible". Contacts for Kosovo citizens in Ukraine are available here.

On Saturday, Croatia, Slovenia, Albania, Romania and Turkey all called on citizens to leave Ukraine or to postpone travel there.

Croatia advised its citizens "to avoid traveling to Ukraine, especially along the border with Russia and Belarus and near the line of separation with the temporarily occupied areas of Crimea and Donbas".

The Slovenian Foreign Ministry said it believed between 70 and 80 Slovenian citizens were currently in Ukraine. Besides telling people not to go to Ukraine, or to leave it. Slovenia recommended its citizens to register online in case of travel or being in Ukraine.

Together with similar warnings and recommendations, Albania has issued ways to contact citizens in Ukraine.

Romania's Foreign Ministry said that, "in the context of the latest security developments in the vicinity of Ukraine and the Black Sea region … the alert level for Ukraine has been raised".

It recommend Romanians...

Continue reading on: