Albania Unveils Sanctions on Russia Over Attack on Ukraine

Albania's Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs, Olta Xhacka, said Albania was joining EU and Western sanctions on Russia over the invasion of Ukraine, presenting its raft of measures on Sunday.

Economic sanctions include measures in the finance, energy, transport and technology fields. Albania also joined the EU and UK in closing its airspace to all aircraft registered in Russia, excluding only cases when flights need to take place for emergency, humanitarian or medical purposes.

Albania joined the EU in imposing sanctions on the assets of Russian President Vladimir Putin, Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and members of Russia's National Security Council.

"Economic sanctions include restrictive measures in finance, energy, transport and technology. In total, these restrictive measures will apply to 654 individuals and 52 entities," Xhacka said.

"In addition, a travel ban has been imposed on Albanian territory for persons listed by the EU," Xhacka added. Albania was ready to offer military and medical help to Ukraine, she noted. "We are working to provide military and hospital assistance to Ukraine within our means," she said.

Prime Minister Edi Rama held an "extraordinary conference" on Friday where he talked about Albania's position towards Russia and clarified that Albania was ready to receive Ukrainian refugees.

A protest was held outside the Russian Embassy in Tirana on Sunday where Albanian and Ukrainian citizens gathered to protest against the war. The Ukrainian Ambassador in Tirana, Volodymyr Shkurov, participated in the protest and said: "The war must stop".

Continue reading on: