US Congress commemorates Greece’s independence anniversary


Legislation was introduced in the US Senate and US House of Representatives commemorating the 202nd anniversary of Greece's independence and celebrating democracy in Greece and the US.

Bob Menendez (D-NJ), chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, once again led this effort in the US Senate. Senator John Barrasso (R-WY) was again the lead Republican sponsor. They were joined by 41 other US Senators as original cosponsors of S. Res. 119 which was introduced in the Senate Thursday.

The other co-sponsors were: Michael Bennet (D-CO); Dick Blumenthal (D-CT); Cory Booker (D-NJ); Mike Braun (R-IN); Sherrod Brown (D-OH); Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV); Ben Cardin (D-MD); Tom Carper (D-DE); Bob Casey (D-PA); Chris Coons (D-DE); Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV); Ted Cruz (R-TX); Tammy Duckworth (D-IL); Dick Durbin (D-IL); Dianne Feinstein (D-CA); John Fetterman (D-PA);...

Continue reading on: