Parliament takes shape for 28th legislative term

The unofficial results of the parliamentary election on May 14 have revealed that the People's Alliance led by President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan's ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) garnered 321 lawmakers as the opposition Nation Alliance remained at 213.

The ruling People's Alliance — formed by the AKP, the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP), the New Welfare Party (YRP) and the Great Union Party (BBP) — achieved the majority among the three alliances formed for the parliamentary polls as the AKP received 266 seats (35 percent), and the MHP gained 50 lawmakers (10 percent), while the YRP had five parliamentarians in the 600-seat legislature.

Four candidates of the Democratic Left Party (DSP) and the Free Cause Party (Hüda-Par), which support the People's Alliance, were included in the AKP's lists in the election and were elected as MPs.

The Nation Alliance — made up of the main opposition Republican People's Party (CHP), the İYİ (Good) Party, the Felicity Party, the Democracy and Progressive Party (DEVA), the Future Party, and the Democrat Party (DP) — had 213 lawmakers with CHP gaining 169 (25.3 percent) and İYİ Party earning 44 seats (9.7 percent).

The DP, the DEVA, the Future Party and the Felicity Party included their parliamentary candidates in the CHP lists, securing a total of 34 seats.

Under the Labor and Freedom Alliance, the Green Left Party (YSP) gained 62 seats (8.8 percent), while the Workers' Party of Türkiye (TİP) had four lawmakers (1.7 percent).

The Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP), which is still in the process of the lawsuit filed in the Constitutional Court, announced that it will enter the elections on the YSP lists and was not on the ballot.

The Nation Alliance pledged to introduce a ...

Continue reading on: