Parliamentary results expected on May 30

The final results of the parliamentary elections held on May 14 will be announced on May 30 at the latest, according to Supreme Election Council (YSK) head Ahmet Yener.

"The appeal files that have reached the [Supreme Election] council will be discussed today, and depending on their fate, the parliamentary results will be known today or tomorrow," YSK head Ahmet Yener said on May 29.

Preparations for the 28th term of the Turkish assembly are in full swing, with the parliamentary swearing-in ceremony expected to take place on June 1, pending the final official results of the May 14 parliamentary election.

The parliament administration, meanwhile, is meticulously fine-tuning the sitting arrangement and will conduct a lottery in which party leaders will not participate, including New Welfare Party (YRP) head Fatih Erbakan as he will be assigned the chamber previously occupied by Great Union Party (BBP) leader Mustafa Destici, who was unable to secure a seat as a deputy this term.

The seating draw will be based on a plan that lists parties from left to right as the Justice and Development Party (AKP), the Republican People's Party (CHP), Green Left Party (YSP), Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) and İYİ (Good) Party groups.

The ruling People's Alliance, led by the AKP and the MHP, achieved the majority among the three alliances formed for the parliamentary polls, as the AKP received 266 seats (35 percent), and the MHP gained 50 lawmakers (10 percent).

The six-party Nation Alliance, on the other hand, had 213 lawmakers, with CHP gaining 169 (25.3 percent) and İYİ Party earning 44 seats (9.7 percent).

During the ceremony, MHP leader Devlet Bahçeli, who will assume the role of interim speaker, is expected to be vigilant to...

Continue reading on: