Russia Implements Six-Month Ban on Gasoline Exports

To address increased domestic demand and facilitate refinery maintenance, Russia has announced a six-month ban on gasoline exports starting from March 1, as reported by Reuters.

The ban, first reported by RBC and confirmed by a spokeswoman for Deputy Prime Minister Alexander Novak, aims to alleviate rising prices and shortages in the domestic market. Similar bans were imposed in September and November of the previous year to mitigate these challenges.

During the ban, exports will be prohibited to all countries except for Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia, and Kyrgyzstan. Notably, member states of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), including Mongolia and Uzbekistan, will be exempt from the restriction. Additionally, the ban will not apply to South Ossetia and Abkhazia, the two breakaway republics in Georgia supported by the Kremlin.

This decision underscores Russia's commitment to managing its domestic energy market while ensuring adequate supply for essential sectors such as agriculture. By temporarily halting exports, the government aims to balance the needs of its citizens and prioritize crucial maintenance activities at refineries.

Continue reading on: