Signatory PMs of Prespa Agreement call on Skopje to respect deal

The former prime ministers of Greece and North Macedonia, Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev, who signed the landmark Prespa Agreement in 2018, have called on the leadership in Skopje to respect the terms of the deal. 

"Following recent elections in North Macedonia, the new leadership has made provocative statements, violating the letter and spirit of Prespa," they wrote in a joint article on the Euractiv website.

They were referring to repeated violations of the agreement by the newly elected president, Gordana Siljanovska, and prime minister of the Balkan country, Hristijan Mickoski, who insist on referring to it as "Macedonia." Mickoski has not formed a government yet and is expected to do so next week.

Tsipras and Zaev also called on Brussels and the international community to take a stance against these violations.

"The EU and the international community...

Continue reading on: