Nobel committee

Why the Fight for Poland’s Soul Is Far From Over

The decision was an administrative one but the timing was a boon for Poland's ruling Law and Justice party (PiS) ahead of the vote.

Then, just as the illiberal populists thought they had the upper hand, Poland's liberal democrats got a boost from news that feminist author Olga Tokarczuk had won the Nobel Prize for literature.

Slobodan Milosevic Sympathiser Awarded Nobel Literature Prize

The decision to award this year's Nobel Prize for literature to Austrian author Peter Handke, alongside Polish novelist Olga Tokarczuk, has sparked angry reactions because of Handke's past support for Slobodan Milosevic's regime.

Kosovo's ambassador to the United States, Vlora Citaku, described the decision as "preposterous and shameful".

Find out who Wins the Nobel Peace Prize for 2017

International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons  (ICAN) won the Nobel Peace Prize for 2017, the Nobel Committee said.

The committee states that the campaign receives the prize for its work to draw attention to the potential catastrophic consequences for mankind of the use of nuclear weapons and its efforts to achieve a ban on such weapons on the basis of a contract.

Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos

The Nobel Peace Prize for 2016 has been awarded to Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos for his "decisive efforts to end the 50-year civil conflict in the country which has taken the lives of over 220,000 people and driven another 6 million from their homes," read the decision of the Nobel Committee.