Insurgency in the Republic of Macedonia

Video Shows MPs Aiding Macedonia Parliament Assailants

The video, captured by security cameras inside the Macedonian parliament shows Krsto Mukoski and Saso Vasilevski, two MPs from the right-wing VMRO-DPMNE party, removing the security bars from the main gate just seconds before the crowd of angry VMRO-DPMNE supporters enter parliament going on to attack their bitter political opponents.

Talat Xhaferi is Now Officially Chair of Macedonian Parliament

Skopje's State Gazette has published the decision for the election of Talat Xhaferi as a new chair of the Macedonian parliament, quoted by BNR.

After Xhaferi's election on April 27 by MPs of the Social Democrats and the Albanian formations, turmoil occurred inside the building of the national assembly with over 100 MPs, administration employees, police and journalists injured.

Mogherini urges Xhaferi to be above party and inter-ethnic politics

EU foreign policy chief Federica Mogherini has called on the president of the FYROM (Macedonia) Assembly Talat Xhaferi to be above "party and inter-ethnic politics."

Xhaferi, a representative of the Albanian DUI party in Macedonia, has been meeting with EU officials in Brussels since Thursday.