StateSec Despescu announces Military Ordinance 5: Extension of flight suspension to and from Spain and Italy

Interior Ministry (MAI) Secretary of State Bogdan Despescu on Monday evening announced the adoption of Military Ordinance No. 5, which provides extending the suspension of airline flights to and from Spain and Italy. "The measure of suspending the flights operated by airlines to Spain and from Spain to Romania for a period of 14 days, starting 31 march 2020, 18,00hrs, is extended.

Masks are Now Mandatory

All persons are required to wear a protective mask when in indoor or outdoor public places. Such an order was given by Health Minister Kiril Ananiev with a new order from today.

As of tomorrow (March 31st), 7 pm, the 14-day quarantine in the town of Bansko is canceled. The ban on entering and leaving the city is also lifted. This was ordered by Health Minister Kiril Ananiev.

In the Fight against Contagion: 40% of the World's Population is Quarantined

More than 40% of the world's population has been urged or forced to comply with the quarantine to combat the new coronavirus, according to estimates by the France Press.

According to the agency, 3 billion and 380 million people are forced to live in isolation in nearly 80 countries and territories.

Interior Minister Vela presents new measures on prevention of COVID-19 spread

Interior Minister Marcel Vela, in a press statement at the Interior Ministry (MAI) headquarters on Sunday, presented new measures meant to prevent and manage the COVID-19 epidemic spread, provided by Military Ordinance 4. One of these measures clarifies the circulation of persons over 65, providing that they can solve their medical problems during the entire day.

GCS: 308 new coronavirus cases in Romania; total number of sick - 1,760

Bucharest, Mar 29 /Agerpres/ - A number of 1,760 persons were confirmed up to now to have the novel coronavirus, 38 deaths being recorded, the Strategic Communication Group (GCS) informed on Sunday. Since the last informative bulletin, 308 new cases were recorded. The patients recently confirmed infected have ages between 0 and 89, the GCS mentioned.

Water levels in Istanbul dams drop

The water level in Istanbul's dams declined as much as 31 percent from a year ago as the city that is home to some 16 million is grappling with the coronavirus pandemic.

Experts warn the residents that further decline in water levels may cause problems in the summer season because personal hygiene is the most effective protection against the virus.

Robbers steal safe with thousands of euros from doctor’s practice in Preveza

Robbers broke into a doctor's practice in the western city of Preveza late Wednesday and removed a safe with more than 200,000 euros, police sources said Thursday.

The attackers entered from the main entrance and fled, the sources said, adding that authorities are checking CCTV footage for clues over the identify of the suspects.