Travel restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic

Arrivals to UK from US and EU Exempt from Quarantine, PCR Tests

UK introduced new rules related to arrivals from different countries. As of 1 August all vaccinated arrivals from US and EU excluding France may enter UK without quarantine which was mandatory until now, BBC elaborated. The UK government confirmed that the change will help to reunite family and friends whose loved ones live abroad.

From Monday: Bulgaria Closes Borders to Netherland, Malta, Andorra and Georgia

As of Monday, July 26, Bulgaria is closed to foreigners coming from four other countries - the Netherlands, Malta, Andorra and Georgia. Bulgarian citizens arriving from these countries, permanent residents and members of their families are allowed in our country only against a negative test for COVID-19, regardless of whether they have been vaccinated or not.

Bulgaria Bans Travelers from Cyprus, Great Britain, Northern Ireland, Spain, Fiji and Kuwait

As of today, citizens from Cyprus, Great Britain, Northern Ireland, Spain, Fiji and Kuwait will not be allowed on the territory of Bulgaria. The reason is that these countries are in the "red zone", which means that they are highly infected with Covid-19.

No Quarantine for People Arriving from Bulgaria in England and Scotland

The quarantine requirement for those arriving from Bulgaria in England and Scotland has been dropped as of 4 a.m. on July 19, the Foreign Ministry announced.

According to our embassy in London, this became possible after changes were announced today, which include Bulgaria in the UK "green" list.

Quarantine rules for arrivals from red-listed countries to change on Saturday

Ljubljana – People who come to Slovenia from countries and areas listed as red and dark red but show proof that they have been vaccinated against Covid-19 or have recently recovered from the disease will no longer need to quarantine as of this Saturday, the government decided on Thursday.

Digital Covid certificates from EU and third countries will be accepted.

Turkey closes borders to 6 countries to guard against new COVID-19 strains

Turkey on June 28 announced that it suspended flights from six countries as part of measures against the COVID-19 pandemic. 

In a circular issued by Turkish Interior Ministry, the country suspended flights from Bangladesh, Brazil, South Africa, India, Nepal, and Sri Lanka as of July 1 and until further notice.

EC Proposes to Exempt Fully Vaccinated Travellers from Tests and Quarantine

As the pandemic ebbs and the holiday season approaches, the EU executive direct efforts in trying to stop the chaos with the travel restrictions around Europe. On Monday, it proposed to Member States updated recommendations for coordination of free movement restrictions in the EU, posed due to COVID-19.