Visa policy of the Schengen Area

'It's High Time' Romania and Bulgaria to Join Schengen Zone, Juncker Announces

Romania and Bulgaria have finally been granted permission to join the Schengen Area paving he way for citizens to move freely throughout the bloc.

EU Commission president Jean-Claude Juncker made the announcement in his state of the union address on Wednesday.

He said: "It is high time to bring Romania and Bulgaria into the Schengen Area.

European Parliament votes to end visa-free travel for Americans

The European Parliament has voted to end visa-free travel for Americans within the EU.


It comes after the US failed to agree visa-free travel for citizens of five EU countries – Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania – as part of a reciprocity agreement. US citizens can normally travel to all countries in the bloc without a visa.


MEPs Want Visas Reimposed on US Citizens

MEPs have called on the European Commission to take reciprocal measures against the US due to ongoing US visa requirements for citizens of Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia, Poland and Cyprus.

European Parliamentarians have urged the Commission to adopt the necessary legal measures "within two months", the parliament said in a resolution adopted on Thursday.