Visa requirements for United States citizens

Bulgaria Bans Travelers from Cyprus, Great Britain, Northern Ireland, Spain, Fiji and Kuwait

As of today, citizens from Cyprus, Great Britain, Northern Ireland, Spain, Fiji and Kuwait will not be allowed on the territory of Bulgaria. The reason is that these countries are in the "red zone", which means that they are highly infected with Covid-19.

Caretaker Health Minister Issues New Orders, State of Epidemic Emergency Extended Until 31 July

As of today, May 27, Romanian citizens can enter Bulgaria via all border crossing points without a document for a negative PCR result or antigen test, vaccination certificate or positive result certifying previous infection.

So reads Order No RD-01-374This issued by caretaker Minister of Health Stoycho Katsarov.

Switzerland Imposed 10-Day Quarantine for Arrivals from Bulgaria

Switzerland introduces a mandatory 10-day quarantine for all the people who arrive from Bulgaria. The measure will come into force on March 22.

The arrivals must also show a negative PCR test.

The quarantine could be lifted no earlier than the 7th day but only after a second negative test. The entry regime is the same for the Principality of Liechtenstein.


European Commission Comes Out With Additional Restriction for International Travellers

Today the Commission is proposing additional safeguards and requirements for international travellers into the EU. New coronavirus variants and the volatile health situation worldwide call for further action to ensure that any travel to the EU takes place safely.

North Rhine-Westphalia Requires Mandatory COVID-19 Test for Those Coming from Bulgaria

The German province of North Rhine-Westphalia requires a mandatory coronavirus test for those arriving from Bulgaria, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced.

Testing should be performed by rapid test or PCR test up to 24 hours before entering the territory of the federal state or immediately thereafter, but not later than 24 hours after arrival.