Canada Extends List of Sanctions Against Russian Deputies


Canada has extended the list of sanctions against Russian deputies and state employees. The Foreign Ministry in Ottawa announced that the list now includes 15 more people, including 6 deputies from the Crimea.

The document points out that the measures are necessary in order "to continue to exert the necessary pressure on Russia until it fulfils fully its international commitments regarding Ukraine."

The new list includes the names of six members of the Russian State Duma from the Crimea. They will face a freezing of their financial assets and a ban on travelling to Canada.

The six deputies face similar restrictions imposed by the EU.

Continue reading on: